The World Food Forum 2024: Good food for all, for today and tomorrow.

Finalists Announced for 2022 World Food Forum Transformative Research Challenge

Finalists Announced for 2022 World Food Forum Transformative Research Challenge

The World Food Forum (WFF) announced the 2022 finalists for the WFF Transformative Research Challenge (TRC). Thanks to a team of global agribusiness and agritech expert evaluators and some tough deliberations, eight finalists were selected from 162 entrants for their outstanding research and promising potential for a positive impact on global and local agrifood systems. The final round of the competition and the announcement of the winners will take place on October 18 during Innovation Day at the WFF flagship event.

The WFF Transformative Research Challenge (TRC) aims to inspire research and innovation in sustainable development to end hunger and transform our agrifood systems.

Teams of young and young-at-heart researchers were invited to submit concept notes proposing innovative research ideas to help end hunger and transform our agrifood systems focusing on one of “four betters” as well as on the WFF’s 2022 theme: “Healthy Diets. Healthy Planet.

Two finalist teams were selected in each of the four categories as well as in the WFF’s 2022 theme, and include:

Better Production

  • “Best Practices for Technological Adoption among Smallholder Farmers: A Case Study in Kenya for Application in the United States” by Somil Aggarwal, Fernando Galvan, Arya Ramkumar, Nalu Concepcion, and Avhan Misra
  • “Putting Disease Detection into the Hands of Poultry Farmers” by Henry Ngale Foretia, Churchill Mambe Nanje, Dr. Bertha Nkemnyi, and Rose Pelagie

Better Nutrition

  • “Potential of maize-legumes mixtures as source of food for smallholders in four agro-ecological zones of Lesotho” by Tumisang Richard Molata and Makata Ranchobe
  • “ZERO TO HERO: Zero Food Waste and Loss through Empowering Mothers’ Champions as the HERO” by Deviana Siregar, Davrina Rianda, Annisa Fajriani, and Dyana Sari

Better Environment

  • “Using data-driven agricultural investigations to develop a socio-spatial approach for crop farming expansion through the ownership of vacant agricultural lands” by Marcel Loyd Minka and Mireille Biraro
  • “Past Seeds for Resilient Food Futures” by Saymore Ngonidzashe Kativu, Cuthbert Mukora, Luckson Zvobgo, Qhelile Bhebhe, Tawonga Mapengo, and Solomon Mutasa

Better Life

  • “Olive tea: the Mediterranean matcha? Assessing the sustainability of traditional Mediterranean medicine” by Sofia Anna Enrica Cavalleri, Puntita Tanwattana, and Clemens M. Grünbühel
  • “Transforming Nutritional Practices and Livelihoods Through Improved Fish Farming in Pakistan” by Sidra Khalid and Najeeb Ullah

Healthy Diets. Healthy Planet

  • “Transitional toward circular food system for healthy food and healthy planet” by Bukire Pacifique
  • “Providing a cost-effective, quick, and portable pesticide residue tester to Tanzanian low- and middle-class tomato consumers and small-scale growers” by Stephene Stephene and Goodluck Muhehe

These finalists will next present their research to a jury of leading experts from across the agribusiness communities. Winners will be selected in each of the four categories, and one will also be awarded the overall 2022 WFF Startup Innovator of the Year Award.

The WFF Startup Innovation Awards jury panel will be chaired by the FAO Chief Economist, Dr Máximo Torero Cullen, and FAO Chief Scientist, Dr Ismahane Elouafi. Jury panelists will include Professor Parfait M. Eloundou-Enyegue, Professor in the Department of Global Development at the University of Cornell, Professor Xu Xiuli, Leading Professor of International Development Cooperation, Dean of the College of International Development and Global Agriculture (CIDGA) at China Agricultural University and Dr. Saul S. MORRIS, Director, Programme  Services Team Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN). Nafn Amdar, Research Officer at the International Water Management Institute (IWMI), Ph.D. Fellow at IHE Delft Institute for Water Education, Schlumberger Faculty for the Future fellow, and 2021 Transformative Research Challenge winner, will serve as a special advisor to the jury.